Writing

I’ve been doing a lot of writing lately…some fun and silly stuff, but mostly deep in nature. I love to write. I always have, but recently rediscovered just how much!

When I was a kid, my favorite part of school was getting a chance to write creative fictional stories! I couldn’t get enough of it. I had new stories spilling over in head constantly and when given the opportunity to write, my pencil could never move fast enough  to keep up with all my ideas. But when I got into eighth grade something tragic happened…I became more and more aware of my struggle with correct grammar and spelling, convincing myself this was proof I wasn’t really a writer. I had good feedback as a young kid, but the older I got it seemed the rules of writing became more important than a good story. So I quit. I was too embarrassed for people to see all my writing mistakes, but deep down I was heart-broken because I longed to write!

It wasn’t until my senior year in college I got enough courage to take a fictional writing and poetry class. I got a four point. My professor told me she would have given me a higher grade if possible, and I should consider a career in writing. This was magical! Me, a writer…I so needed to hear that! But how do you undo so many years of believing lies? Time and process. It’s taken time to really belive and call myself a writer, just as it took time to believe and call myself an artist.

My spelling has improved some, but thank God for spellcheck! My grammar – well – I do my best. One day when I’m published thank God for editors! I’ve recently been taking a writing class and one of my biggest discoveries is my love for writing nonfiction. I had no idea how much I would love this. It has freed me as a writer more than I can say. I am thankful.

I’ve been pondering what to do with these writings, wondering if I should share them here or start an additional blog. One of my deepest longings is to encourage and inspire people to be who God made them to be, especially within the church. I think all people are artists/creative in their own unique ways, but I have a special place in my heart for those who are called by God as artists. A lot of my writing address these issues and is very  unashamedly Christ centered.

So I’m throwing it out there…what do you think? Would you like to see these topics addressed within this blog or do you think I should begin another? I would really love some feedback.

2 thoughts on “Writing

  1. Alisa,
    I for one would love to see your writing here on this blog. You are a creative soul and your art is not limited to what you create with your hands, it is also how the ideas are formulated in your heart. Write away…..

Leave a comment